SONIC BLAST OFF TO SUPER START AT SANDOWN Official release: Sonic Motor Racing Services April 8, 2016 Sonic Motor Racing Services have started 2016 in sensational fashion with round wins in both the GT3 Cup Challenge and Australian Formula Ford Series. Sonic pilots Leanne Tander, Max Vidau, Ryan Simpson and Hamish Hardeman all came...

Read More

DePasquale seals third straight Australian Formula Ford title for Mygale

IMG 6609ANTON DE PASQUALE is the 2013 Australian Formula Ford Champion, sealing the title with a dominant performance during round six of the championship at Phillip Island.

The 18-year-old high school student from Werribee (Victoria) scored pole position and won the first two races of the weekend in dominant fashion before fighting his way to the front in the finale’, ultimately sweeping the weekend and clinching not just the round but the championship in style.

De Pasquale sealed the third straight title for the Mygale chassis and becomes the seventh driver to win the national Formula Ford championship for the Sonic Motor Racing Services team, following in the footsteps of big names like Will Davison and Jamie Whincup, amongst many other ‘name’ drivers now enjoying success in the sport. Anton wins a test drive with FPR as part of his championship victory.

Dramas for closest rivals Macauley Jones and Liam Sager ensured that he could seal the title with one round – three races – to spare this season.

“I wanted to make sure I could have a perfect weekend given the way the first two races went,” The Shamick Racing-supported Mygale driver said following his race three triumph.

“It would have been bad to have won the first two that way and not have the perfect weekend so I tried to win it as hard as I could. The championship was in the back of my mind.. but it was a great race and would have been pretty good for the fans watching!”

De Pasquale’s Formula Ford championship victory not only places him in elite company but also seals his place in racing history: he becomes the 21st and final Australian Formula Ford champion as top level Australian competition returns to a national series format in 2014.

“We have a board in our garage with a list of people who have won the championship with this team alone, and it’s incredible to know that I’ll join that list,” he explained.

“It will obviously look amazing on my resume to be known as the last champion and it’s a great feeling.

“I’m looking forward to going to the final round in Sydney and try to keep winning some races and have some fun to end the year!”

De Pasquale dominated races one and two but was forced to fight for his victory in the third, surviving some incredible battles – including a four-wide fight for the lead on the entry to turn one – to eventually work his way to the front and take another victory.

As well as sealing the championship, he won the round ahead of Sam Power and Liam Sager. De Pasquale also set a new Phillip Island lap record for Formula Fords in race two, setting the new benchmark at 1m35.8901s.

A solid weekend from CAMS Rising Star / Minda Motorsport driver Liam Sager elevated him to second in the championship, as teammate Macauley Jones endured a second consecutive rough weekend.

Jones qualified fifth and finished third in race one, however an incident at turn four with young Victorian James Golding ended his second race and effectively ended his championship hopes.

Jones went from second to fourth in the Championship standings and is now part of a three-way fight for second, third and fourth in the championship in the championship's final round on the streets of Sydney Olympic Park in two weeks time.

Also to be decided at Sydney Olympic Park will be the Rookie of the Year title; Queenslander Jordan Lloyd leading Luke Marquis by just 16 points ahead of the final round, with Tom Randle a further five behind in third - all three are Mygale drivers.