SONIC BLAST OFF TO SUPER START AT SANDOWN Official release: Sonic Motor Racing Services April 8, 2016 Sonic Motor Racing Services have started 2016 in sensational fashion with round wins in both the GT3 Cup Challenge and Australian Formula Ford Series. Sonic pilots Leanne Tander, Max Vidau, Ryan Simpson and Hamish Hardeman all came...

Read More

Jones streaks to 21 point title lead

IMG 0933CAMS Rising Stars/Minda Motorsport Mygale driver Macauley Jones has continued his red-hot form by scoring pole position and taking two of the three available race victories to grab the series lead in the Australian Formula Ford Championship. 

Jones led local hope Liam Sager home in a CAMS Rising Stars 1-2 in two of the three races and the overall round result this weekend, Sager taking out a slippery second race on Sunday morning after light rain made conditions challenging and setup a gamble. 

Still, when he wasn’t wining Jones was on the podium, continuing a sparkling run of form at Queensland Formula Ford rounds for the 18-year-old Albury driver this year.

Jones has now won five of the past six races, the last two rounds overall and has only finished outside the top three on two occasions this year. 

Sager finished second overall this weekend and pushed his CAMS Rising Star / Minda Motorsport Mygale teammate hard all weekend. 

He finished second in races one and three – the third race a thrilling slipstreaming battle between the pair for the lead that began on lap one and ended when the flag flew.

Sager’s first win of the season in race two was more comprehensive, defending off early advances from Jones before pulling away to take a strong victory, his first of the year, by two seconds. 

Formula Ford rookie standout Tomas Randle finished third overall after yet another strong overall weekend performance saw him jump to eighth in the championship – despite missing the opening round in Tasmania in April. 

Randle’s Volvparts / Evans Motorsport Mygale qualified only ninth after missing Friday practice with a clutch failure, but charged forward to fourth in race one and an outstanding second position in the slippery race two behind Sager. 

He ran third on the road in the finale’ – behind only the warring Rising Stars drivers – but was later penalised 5 seconds post-race for a start line infringement and was ultimately classified fifth. 

Former championship leader Anton DePasqaule endured a challenging weekend with pace and luck not going the way of the #2 Shamick Racing / Sonic Motor Racing Mygale driver. 

He qualified second (just 0.05s behind Jones) and finished third in the opening race, handing the points lead to Jones for the first time this year. The 17-year-old Victorian was then forced off the track with mechanical issues just four laps from home in race two – whilst running in front of Jones - on Sunday morning.

He rebounded to third in the finale’ from the back of the field and remains the only multiple race winner not called Macauley Jones this season. 

Toowoomba driver Jordan Lloyd showed superb pace on home turf, qualifying fifth and bounding back from a race one non-finish (after a collision with Sam Power) to finishes of sixth and fourth in races two and three, respectively in his BF Racing Mygale. 

The EWP Hard Charger Award winner was  taken by another of the Mygale brigade, Jayden Wallis, another of the CAMS Rising Star squad.

The next round of the Australian Formula Ford Championship will be contested at Winton Motor Raceway in Victoria, on the August 23-25 weekend, with the V8 Supercars.